Silence Is Easy

But I can still let it go
I can still learn to grow
Into a child again
Starsailor – Silence Is Easy

Wow, hi! Been a long time. Unfortunately life did that little thing where it gets in the way, eats at my writing muse and just leaves me with nothing to say. But things are changing. Firstly, I am pulling my finger out and maning up!

I’m not going to sit and moan on for a few hundred words about how my life has been so hard recently, because (to be honest) it really hasn’t. I’ve been busy at work, yes; tired, yes; learning about the downs relationships can go through – but my “plight” has been minimal in the grand scheme of things. Instead, I am going to focus on the positives that have happened between my last post and now. Starting with an update on my 101 things list.

It’ll be a shortened version, but there will be the standard bit of waffle. This is me, after all.

27. Try a new food. – I am eating meat again. After 13ish years of vegetarianism, I have been fallen off the band wagon. It started with tasting samples of the boyfriend’s meals and flourished into ordering meaty burgers. I still vegetarian at home, as I think I would genuinely kill myself cooking meat – I stopped listening in Food Tech when they started talking about meat.

47. Play a song I’ve written to the boyfriend. – I actually did this one ages ago, had the draft saved to write and never got round to it. It was one of the few good moments in a disaster evening when I tried cooking a meal for him. There was Scrabble and tears involved… anyway, the song! I played Hello 4 am for him and it went down a treat!

77. Take my parents for a meal where I work. – I’ve cheated a little on this one, but there we go. For my mum’s Birthday, I got her a £25 gift voucher for the pub I work at. At the time, I figured it was the only way I was ever going to get her to come in. A couple weeks later, they booked a table and came down for a meal. They seemed to really enjoy it and I’m glad I got to share that aspect of my life with my parents.

78. Cook a meal for the boyfriend – with no onion.  – Ahh, the meal. This one was an adventurous one, for many reasons. One, I can’t cook. Two, he’s  chef. Three, I can’t cook meat and he’s not big on veggie. Four, no onions were allowed near the food making process because he cannot stand them. (Think how I react to peas and that’s what you have with him and onions.) Still, I tried it. I went for stuffed peppers, using a recipe I found in the veggie cookbook my sister got me for Christmas, but had to omit half the ingredients to tailor it to our taste buds. In the end, it didn’t really taste of anything and he ended up eating leftover Chinese. Things I am never going to cook again? Stuffed peppers.

84. See a magic show. – For Christmas, the boyfriend bought us tickets to see Derren Brown. Not a traditional magic show, I know, but it was fantastic either way. So much information and mind trickery went on that night, it all seems like a blur now. It was so good though. We took part in all the crowd hypnotisings and I still can’t work out if I’m glad or sad it didn’t work on me. The finale was the best; for eight minutes he literally showed off how clever he was – memorising Shakespeare and bus routes, matching Rubick’s cubes behind his back and all within a time limit… Madness! A fantastic night and one I would happily do again.

89. Go to a theme park. – I have been to many a theme park and a theme park many a time, but it had been a while since I’d last been. So I was very excited when the boyfriend’s mum gave us half price/bogof tickets to Alton Towers from a KitKat packet. We went during the heatwave and on a day when it seemed like every school trip was but it was brilliant nonetheless. I got to go on all the new rides I’d missed in the intervening years – Rita, Sonic Spinball, 13 – and the new one, The Smiler. Front row seats for the Smiler. My face was so bad, the picture was bought.

96. Make a cake in my own kitchen. – This one was going to have step by step picture commentary, but alas I (once again) never got round to it. The cake looked like a pile of puke, but it tasted ok. I added too much milk to the butter icing so it slide off. And everyone picked the cherries off the top. They were real cherries too! Not those icky glace ones. Still, lessons learned – I will be trying again. I’ve invested in a cupcake tray and silicone cases – so it looks like cupcakes are my next target.

Those are all the ones I’ve completed and there are a few which are being worked on, like 93. Turn Eddie and Miller in to a mini series, and ones which I’m hoping to do soon, like 52. Throw a dinner party.

So, what else, what else? Oh yes. I am going to restart uploading videos to my YouTube account, thanks to a couple of encouraging comments and the general desire to sing and play guitar more regularly. Currently I am battling a cold, but the second I can go more than twenty minutes without bunging up you will be getting a rendition of Taylor Swift’s 22, for what is the Misadventures of a 22 Year Old without a stab at 22? I’m even going to make a page for it, to make it official.

Anyway, I believe that is it for the time being. So I bid you aideu and leave you with the image of me running around in circles going, “Wheeeeeeeeee! I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack.” Because I cannot have a returning post without the image of me being crazy, now can I really?

TTFN!

Oh yeah!! One more thing: My hair is now short and a different shade of red. Vital information, yes.

Leave a comment